Top 10 Tuesday: April 5, 2016

Standard

[Top 10 Tuesday is a book blog meme hosted by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish because who doesn’t love top 10 lists!]

This week’s list is the top 10 bookish folks you should follow on social media. I’m choosing Youtube because there are so many to choose from, however, I’m annoyed by quite a few of them (I won’t name names). But these are the few who don’t spend the majority of their videos shouting. The following are my top 10 favourite booktubers (in no particular order):

  1. Sanne, from Books and Quills

Sanne was my introduction to the world of booktube and booktubers. She is intelligent, creative, and knows quite a bit about the publishing industry. Her videos range from bookstore visits, favourite first lines in books, and reviews. You can’t go wrong with any of her great recommendations.

2. Ariel Bissett, from Ariel Bissett

Not only is she super cute, she’s CANADIAN! Sold. Ariel does everything from book hauls, tag videos, and booktube-a-thons.

3. Anna, from A Case for Books

Anna is a UK books journalist and is fairly new to the Booktube scene. She doesn’t post very often, but when she does, it’s genius. Her videos remind me of a moving bookstagram   – with great recommendations of her top 5 reads.

4. Katie, from Chapter Stackss

Chapter Stackss aka Katie is a grad student and all around lover of horror and psychology. The reviews she posts are in-depth, clear, and articulate, which is what I like best about her channel.

5. Jean, from Bookish Thoughts

I don’t remember how I found Jean’s channel, but I’m glad I did. She reviews various genres including YA, LGBTQ, and ancient history. Also, other videos she’s added her expertise on are tips for university students, becoming vegetarian, and discussing what it’s like being a Youtuber.

6. Rincey, from Rincey Reads

As someone who strives to read more diversely, I’m impressed with Rincey’s bookshelf – from Being Mortal to China Rich Girlfriend. If you like her, check out Book Riot.

7. Stephanie, from Pink Lemonade Reads

Stephanie is dramatic, but not over the top. She has a friendly and warm personality and talks about books like she would to her best friend. Plus, it’s fun to watch her videos about reading and watching Harry Potter for the first time (and as an adult!)

8. Lala, from BooksandLala

Canadian #2 on my list. My favourite thing about her book reviews is a solid five star rating system. If she rates a book four out of five, she’ll tell us four things she loved about the book and one thing she didn’t like or thought could be improved.

9. Jamie and Jeff, from Ermahgerd Berks

Canadians #3 and #4. Even if I wasn’t crazy about their videos, I would still watch their introduction! I think it’s the song. They post tag videos, book hauls, and best and worst booktube reads.

10. Regan, from Peruse Project

Regan does a lot of wrap up and book haul videos and I’ll watch those the most because they’re short. She is quite enthusiastic and engaging.

 

What are your favourite mediums to engage with bookish folks? What booktubers would you recommend?

Leave a Reply

