Friday Finds

Standard

[Friday Finds is a book blog meme hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm to showcase some of the books on your TBR list wherever you found them!]

This morning I ventured out to my favourite library again to see if my hold had come in. It hadn’t. Instead I picked up these three very different books.

DSCF4333

A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan

Goodreads synopsis: Alice Pearse is a little Kate Reddy, a little Bridget Jones. She is happily married mother of three (mostly), an attentive daughter, a part-time editor, and a caring neighbour. When her husband decides to change career paths, she is ready to do the same. She lands a job at Scroll, a start-up and the future of reading. Although her friend disapproves of her new role, Alice is happy with the progress she’s made and her challenging balancing act. But then everything starts to unravel – her dad falls ill, her marriage starts crumbling, her kids grow up, and her job isn’t what she thought it would be like. She begins to question if everything is worth it and what she really wants.

My thoughts before reading: This sounds like a nice beach read. But oh well, there’s still snow on the ground where I am.

Slade House by David Mitchell

Goodreads synopsis: This is a collection of interconnecting short stories about a mysterious house down the narrow and dank Slade Alley. The stories span five decades beginning in 1979 and concluding on Halloween in 2015. There is a special guest that is summoned every nine years to the house, but no one knows why that person has been chosen, by whom, and for what purpose.

My thoughts before reading: A couple weeks ago I watched Chapter Stackss captivating review of Slade House. I’m very excited to sink my teeth into this one and normally I’m not a huge fan of horror!

Mislaid by Nell Zink

Goodreads synopsis: Peggy, a freshman, falls in love with her professor and they begin an ill-fated affair that ends with an unplanned pregnancy and marriage. They were not perfect for each other from the start – she’s a lesbian and he’s gay. A decade goes by as she’s trying to decipher her own emotions and before she runs off with their daughter, leaving her 9 year old son behind. Worried about her own behaviour, she adopts African-American identities for herself and her daughter. Meanwhile, her husband and son are living a life of privilege. Years later, the siblings meet again and because of their differences in childhood setting off a series of misunderstandings.

My thoughts before reading: I’m not sure what to think. This could go either way – racially insensitive or culturally aware. I’ll just have to wait and see. Mislaid has a Goodreads rating of 3.33.

 

3 thoughts on “Friday Finds

    • Yes, after reading “Slade House” I wouldn’t call it horror either. I think I was expecting more “The Haunting of Hill House” or Japanese style ghost stories. It was creepy for sure, but I thought it would have me hearing all the creaks in the house and making me not want to go in the basement 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

