Top Ten Tuesday – April 19, 2016

Standard

[Top 10 Tuesday is a book blog meme hosted by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish because who doesn’t love top 10 lists!]

It’s time for another Top Ten! This week’s topic is the top ten books that’ll make you laugh (until you cry 😂).

201434

Purple, Green and Yellow by Robert Munsch

Summary: Brigid loves markers, but not just any markers. She wants what her friends have because then she can draw wonderful pictures. But now she’s bored. Drawing on paper doesn’t appeal to her anymore. When she convinces her mother to buy her super permanent markers and she draws on herself, she knows she’s in trouble.

My Thoughts: Do you have young kids? Do they like to draw on the walls? On themselves? Almost anything you read by Robert Munsch will be hilarious. My mom and I would read this and sit there laughing ourselves silly. I’m pretty sure she was relieved I wasn’t that bad. Or was I?

51wAAzcD2uL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh

Summary: Essentially, it’s Brosh’s blog on paper. She writes and illustrates about her life, stories about her dogs, and about the people who have been effected by her. Also, who knew that depression could be so funny?

My Thoughts: A laugh on every single page.

7821447
Sh*t My Dad Says by Justin Halpern

Summary: Halpern moves in with his father after his girlfriend breaks up with him. This is a record of some of the crazy things that his father has said to him. Some of my favourite quotes are:

On Feeling Comfortable in One’s Own Skin: It’s my house. I’ll wear clothes when I want to wear clothes, and I’ll be naked when I want to be naked. The fact that your friends are coming over shortly is inconsequential to that – aka I don’t give a sh*t.

On Summer Vacation: Watching TV all day is not an option. If this were Let’s Make a Deal, that would not be behind one of the doors to choose from.

On Getting in Trouble at School: Why would you throw a ball at someone’s face?…Huh. That’s a pretty good reason. Well, I can’t do much about your teacher being pissed, you me and you are good.

My Thoughts: Sam Halpern makes everyone else’s father look sane.

10335308
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Summary: This is Mindy Kaling’s first memoir. She details her life as a chubby child of immigrant professionals, her time as a comedy writer and actress for The Office, and other mishaps.

My Thoughts: What makes her special and funny to me, is how relatable I find her. She may be a Hollywood starlet and headline her own show, but she still trips in public and eats cheeseburgers at night. Okay, maybe I’m making those up.

515oIVp-lFL
The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz

Summary: This is the first book of the Spellman series. Izzie Spellman, 28, is a private investigator works for Spellman Investigations, aka mom and dad. She’s often compared to her perfect older brother, David, and expected to set a good example for her fourteen year-old-sister, Rae. After her parents hire Rae to find out the identity of Izzie’s new boyfriend, she tells them she wants out. Now, she must take on a fifteen-year-old missing person’s case before they’ll let her go.

My Thoughts: Izzie reminds me a little of Veronica Mars and we all know how much I love Veronica!

2120806
The Rick Mercer Report: The Book by Rick Mercer

Summary: The reports/interviews/politics you’ll find here are amongst his best material from The Mercer Report show.

My Thoughts: It probably won’t come as a surprise that politics is an indifferent subject for me. I’m not saying it’s not important discussion to have, but it’s never been able to hold me attention until now.

33724
Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Summary: Emma Corrigan has a few secrets. She has no idea what NATO stands for, or what it is. She weighs 128 pounds; not 118 like her boyfriend thinks. When her colleague Artemis annoys her, she feeds her plants orange juice. Until she tells them to a handsome stranger on a plane. She thinks she’ll never see him again, but wait until Monday morning when she meets the CEO of the company she works for.

My Thoughts: Jack. Sigh. 😍

reynolds-touchmesick
Touch Me, I’m Sick: The 52 Creepiest Love Songs You’ve Ever Heard by Tom Reynolds

Summary: Reynolds has split up all the songs into categories:
Hopelessly Devoted to You
Touch Me, I’m Sick
I Want to Fly Like an Ego
Love’s Just Another Word for I Want to Eat Your Liver
I’m Not Bitter, I Just Wish You’d Die, You Miserable Pig
All in the Family
Death Becomes Us
Those Freaking Butterfly songs
Little Ditties About Oral Sex and Masturbation
Perfect Storms

My Thoughts: If you like love songs, you might want to think again.

wells
The Heather Wells series by Meg Cabot

Summary: This series follows Heather Wells, former pop star and ex-girlfriend to fellow pop star. After she left pop-idol life behind, she may have gained a pound or two. Fast forward 10 years – she dumped her cheating fiance, lost a recording contract, and watched her life savings drain (because her mom took it and ran off to Argentina).  Now she is working as an assistant dorm director, living with her ex-fiance’s brother, and investigating a murder that occurred in her residence hall. And this is just the beginning…

My Thoughts: Since Cabot came out with The Princess Diaries, I’ve been a huge fan. This book had me giggling all day.

511YMMX9qwL
He’s Just Not That Into You by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo

Summary: This book was based on a popular episode of Sex and the City. Probably the one where Carrie, Samantha, Miranda, and Charlotte are sitting at a restaurant drinking cocktails. Sound familiar? He’s Just Not That Into You is a guide for straight women everywhere to decode mixed messages from men.

My Thoughts: Hmmm….Sorry if this choice makes you like me a little less. I can’t lie. When it was first published, I remember liking it. But I do take all their advice with a grain of salt.

What are your opinions about my titles listed here? What are some of your funniest reads?

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – April 19, 2016

  1. This topic was actually pretty hard for me, but I’m glad you had more picks than me! I’d love to read a few celebrity memoirs–I hear they are so hilarious, especially when the author reads their own audiobook. I’ve been looking at Yes, Please by Amy Poehler and I’d LOVE the audiobook, but it’s so expensive :(.

    Thanks for stopping by Princessica of Books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re going to absolutely love it! While some of it is about her experience with depression, she spends most of the book detailing the lives of her dogs and her life in general.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

