Monthly Wrap-Up: April 2016

Standard

It’s hard to believe that it’s the end of April already and summer is just around the corner. As I’ve just started a brand new marketing internship at an AWESOME Canadian publisher, I haven’t had the chance to post in the last couple days. But I’m here now. And it’s MAY!

Okay, so I’m keeping this post short and sweet. Out of the books I was planning on reading this month:

After You by Jojo Moyes
Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
What is Not Yours is Not Yours by Helen Oyeyemi

The only book that I actually finished from the above was the Moyes sequel. The plot wasn’t surprising. Louisa’s feeling depressed since Will died, attending a bereavement group where she meets her new boyfriend, and deciding what to do with the rest of her life.

I’m also currently one short story into What is Not Yours is Not Yours. I don’t really have much thoughts about it yet, besides I’m finding it to be a little confusing sometimes.

Books that I read this month:
Asking For It by Louise O’Neill
I would love to give this a five star rating, but I found the main character lacking in empathy and she just wouldn’t help herself. She just wasn’t as strong as I would have liked to see. However, it’s interesting because I haven’t come across another book like it yet. Sexual assault and social media are at the forefront in the novel.

Broken Resolutions by Olivia Dade
I thought this was going to be promising because it is about librarians…but no. The librarian, Penny, falls in love after two hours with a man she JUST had sex with. Right, like that happens.

Slade House by David Mitchell
Well-written and very interesting. Not too scary.

After You by Jojo Moyes
Not as unique a storyline as her first book, but still worth a read. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry. Good times 🙂

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisely
I ❤ food. ‘Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

