Monthly Wrap-Up: May 2016

Standard

Happy Sunday! It’s a bright, sunny, humid day – an awesome day to read outside 🙂 Which makes me wish I had a hammock, I could put up in the shade. Since I forgot to write my May TBR Pile, I don’t remember the books I was planning on reading this month.

I’m currently reading Food, Sex, and You by Stacey Gorlicky, Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, and Worth the Trade by Kristina Mathews.

Here’s a list of what I ended up reading and my initial impressions of them:

Books that I read this month:

Naked Pursuit by Jill Monroe
The chaos that ensues when Stella wakes up in Owen’s arms in a hotel bathtub with neither having any recollection of the night before was both frightening and hilarious. Slowly but surely, they start to piece together the previous night’s events with help from cryptic notes they left for themselves. What I really enjoyed about this romance is the entire situation Stella and Owen are put in is created from volunteering to be guinea pigs for an experimental medical trial. Also, they have a fun and flirty relationship!

Seducing the Best Man by Sasha Summers
Cady and Patton’s relationship goes from 0-100 in 30 seconds. But the major twist? His brother and her best friend, Bianca are getting married after dating for a month! Since neither believe in long-term relationships or marriage, they team up to sabotage the union. This isn’t a unique storyline but the banter between the lovers was hot. What I really liked was Cady’s independence and strong career goals. I would read other Harlequin Blaze stories by Summers.

London’s Most Eligible Doctor by Annie O’Neil
Lina is a resentful former prima ballerina. Cole is an American doctor running from his demons. Her career was on the rise until an injury changed the course of her life. He needs a secretary for his busy clinic for injured dancers. Working for a supportive workplace and for Cole breaks down her insecurities. Probably my favourite parts of this story are the Lina and Cole puppy scenes 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

