Top Ten Tuesday – August 2, 2016

Standard

[Top 10 Tuesday is a book blog meme hosted by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish because who doesn’t love top 10 lists!]

It’s time for another Top Ten! This week’s topic is Ten Books I’d Buy If I Was Handed a Loaded Gift Card.

Where to start? Where to start? I have a lot of books on this list. But a book lover can dream, can’t she?

Ch3O3p8WUAAQLc8.nocrop.w529.h848

10. The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

She’s got that something-something about her that I can’t put my finger on, but you can’t look away. Definitely one of the most interesting female celebrities in Hollywood today.

harry-potter-audiobooks

9. The entire Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

Since all the books belong to my sister, I should get my own copies. Then I would have no excuse not to read them all. Even the last one.

The_Art_Of_Asking_Book_Cover

8. The Art of Asking; or, How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Let People Help by Amanda Palmer

What I’ve found in my twenty-nine years on this planet is that asking for help isn’t easy. Every time I ask someone for a favour I feel guilty. I’m not sure why. The world is full of people asking for help – the homeless living on the streets, regular joes needing capital to make their idea(s) a reality, and even Kanye West who claimed (earlier this year) that he’s $53 million in debt.

Life mechanical_2P_r1.indd

7. Life Without a Recipe by Diana Abu-Jaber

Food. Family. ’nuff said.

1Grunt

6. Grunt by Mary Roach

I borrowed this from the library recently but didn’t get to finish it.

9781594634635_custom-2593ed815285acb4dca2b31593cb227d0e62e676-s400-c85

5. What is Not Yours is Not Yours by Helen Oyeyemi

Everything she writes is beautiful and with purpose.

41Me76kZjJL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

4. It was Me All Along by Andie Mitchell

I love reading about successful weight loss stories since mine is the typical yo-yo one.

Persepolis_film

3. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

This graphic novel has been recommended to me so many times over the years. According to my best friend and fellow reader, it’s a well-written, illustrated, and interesting story. I have no excuse. The English major and book lover in me is disappointed that I haven’t read it yet.

9780425285176

2. Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

With the Gilmore Girls reunion fast approaching, I’m excited to read about Graham’s experience with this group the first time ’round.

scrappy-little-nobody-9781508213550_hr

1. Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick

I would pay a lot of money just to read her tweets in book form. She’s hilarious and can describe her generation in 140 characters or less.

What books are on your shopping list if you had a loaded gift card?

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – August 2, 2016

  1. Howdy! I’m loving all of the books on this list… And I’m equally excited for Lauren Graham’s newest release, and the Gilmore Girls revival… there can never be too much! I’d never heard of Persepolis, and life without a recipe sounds cute. One book I think would fit nicely with this list is Ann Patchett’s, ‘What Now?” Maybe you’ve read it :)?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Micayla, I totally agree with you that there can never bee too much Gilmore Girls! Actually, I haven’t read “What Now?” but it sounds like a book I could’ve benefited from, particularly when I was younger. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Like

Leave a Reply

