Top Ten Tuesday – November 8, 2016

Standard

[Top 10 Tuesday is a book blog meme hosted by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish because who doesn’t love top 10 lists!]

It’s time for another Top Ten! This week’s topic is Top Ten Books I’ve Added to My To-Be-Read List Lately.

 

The Vegetarian by Han King
Booktubers (and I’m sure, Bloggers) were posting about the elegance of this translated novel. They couldn’t get enough. It took me a while but it’s been added to my TBR list now. The themes of obsession, choice, and feeling imprisoned in our bodies reminds me of The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood.

Royally Screwed by Emma Chase
Who doesn’t love a hot, arrogant, inappropriate prince falling for a “commoner”? A woman can dream 🙂 I’ve also read some of Chase’s other romances so I have high hopes for this one.

The Wangs vs The World by Jade Chang
Only recently have I noticed the popularity of novels with Asian protagonists and I want to keep supporting this trend. The Wangs vs The World is about a Chinese American family who loses their wealth because of a financial crisis. Disgraced, the patriarch of the family, Charles Wang pulls his privileged son and daughter out of schools he can’t afford. He takes them and his high maintenance wife on a road trip. They are on their way to New York where his eldest daughter and former art world it-girl, Saina is hiding out. Will they all survive the trip so they can start over in Asia?

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
The darkness of this YA has me intrigued.

Searching for John Hughes by Jason Diamond
I think I’ll be able to relate to growing up obsessed with John Hughes movies. My best friend, Sonja, introduced me to Sixteen Candles at 14 years old and I absolutely loved it!

Trainwreck by Sadie Doyle
We can’t look away from the train wreck; you know it’s true. Plus, I’ve always loved reading essays dissecting pop culture – from TV and movies to celebrities.

Forward by Abby Wambach
President Obama called her inspirational and a “badass.”

The Secret Loves of Geek Girls edited by Hope Nicholson
Margaret Atwood has contributed to this anthology. Need I say more?

A House Without Windows by Nadia Hashimi
After having read The Lovers, I’m interested in reading a book highlighting woman’s issues in Afghanistan. I expect A House Without Windows to be an emotional read.

I’m the One that I Want by Margaret Cho
Margaret Cho expresses her opinions of the Asian American experience hilariously in her stand-up. Hopefully her thoughts will be conveyed just as well in her memoir.

Are any of these books on your own TBR? What have you added to yours?

Leave a Reply

