Monthly Themes

Standard

Hello fellow book lovers,

Happy New Year! May 2017 be your best literary year yet. In a couple days I will no longer be in my twenties (although I will always claim to be 25), I’ve been examining my past blogging objectives. The results? Not impressive. Although I’m satisfied with my progress in reading diversely – genre, authors, books featuring characters with minority backgrounds, etc – my 2015 Reading Bingo challenge remains stagnant at one book finished. My New Year’s resolution is to continue with my weekly Top Ten Tuesday meme, introduce bimonthly book reviews, and consistent monthly TBR pile and wrap-up posts. The main decision I made for this year is I plan on reading books that fall into a monthly theme. Also, I haven’t been living by the motto “quality over quantity” so this year is going to be different.

January 2017 – Be Your Best You
Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin
The Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes
My bookshelf: Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

February 2017 – Black History Month
The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
The Illegal by Lawrence Hill
Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi
My bookshelf: The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill

March 2017 – Canada Reads
I doubt I’ll have time to read all of these, but here is the longlist:
The Break by Katherena Vermette
Company Town by Madeline Asby
The Elephants in My Backyard by Rajiv Surendra
even this page is white by Vivek Shraya
Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis
I Am Woman by Lee Maracle
The Just City by Jo Walton
Knucklehead by Matt Lennox
Nostalgia by M.G. Vassanji
One Hour in Paris by Karyn L. Freedman
Quantum Night by Robert J. Sawyer
The Right to Be Cold by Sheila Watt-Cloutier
Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
Today I Learned It Was You by Edward Riche
Waiting for the First Light by Roméo Dallaire with Jessica Dee Humphreys

April 2017 – Humour
The Martian by Andy Weir
Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Temple
Bossypants by Tina Fey
My bookshelf: Knocked Up by Rebecca Eckler

May 2017 – Mother-Daughter relationships
My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Street
Anywhere but Here by Mona Simpson
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon or Are You My Mother? by Alison Bechdel
My bookshelf: White Oleander by Janet Finch

June 2017 – Free
The Translation of Love by Lynne Kutsukake
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys
My bookshelf: Slumdog Millionaire by Vikas Swarup

July 2017 – Canadian
This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki
Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeline Thien
Hagseed by Margaret Atwood
My bookshelf: A Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

August 2017 – Beach reads
Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch
Eligible: A Modern Retelling of Pride and Prejudice by Curtis Sittenfeld
I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan
My bookshelf: The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern

September 2017 – Books Schools Teach That I Haven’t Read Yet
Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
My bookshelf: A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines

October 2017 – Ghost/scary stories
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh
The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena or The Crow Girl by Erik Axl Sund
My bookshelf: Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

November 2017 – Long time TBR books
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
Julie and Julia by Julie Powell
My bookshelf: Stones into Schools by Greg Mortenson

December 2017 – Dysfunctional families
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
My bookshelf: All Families are Psychotic by Douglas Coupland

*Photo Credit: Patrick Tomasso, Unsplash

Leave a Reply

