Top Ten Tuesday – January 17, 2016

Standard

[Top 10 Tuesday is a book blog meme hosted by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish because who doesn’t love top 10 lists!]

It’s time for another Top Ten! This week’s topic is Eight Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So.

51pi1jkgdpl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

The Productivity Project by Chris Bailey

A couple of years ago, I drastically changed my life. I left my ESL teaching position and in between finishing my TESL certificate and going back to school for publishing I was in desperate need of creating some structure in my life. I think that’s way Chris Bailey’s experiment with productivity was so inspiring to me. By checking off the things that I wanted to do today, no matter how big or small, makes me feel like I haven’t wasted the day. This book taught me that valuable lesson. It’s why I’m including it on this list.

url

The Golden Son by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

6905012-_uy400_ss400_

The Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Gowda’s storytelling is incredibly vivid and her characters are well-developed. I can see both The Golden Son and Secret Daughter as films (my money’s on Dev Patel for Anil if it ever gets made).

23130299

The Outside Circle by Patti Laboucane-Benson

It’s a really heartbreaking story about two brothers separated by gang violence and the prejudices Aboriginals in Canada have faced throughout history.

25362017

The Girl with Seven Names by Hyeonseo Lee

Another heartbreaking story, but also a success story of a young North Korean girl whose determination and courage saved herself, brother, and mother from a devastating life.

61SVNBaYwnL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_

So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed by Jon Ronson

Jon Ronson provides hilarious insight into the lives of people who’ve been publicly shamed. It really made me think – did someone deserve losing everything because they told a bad joke (that people took offense to) or made a mistake at work? I don’t know. But it is interesting how Ronson notes how angry mobs on social media use it as a form of social control.

51wAAzcD2uL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Every single page is laugh-out-loud funny. She even makes sensitive topics like living with depression amusing (which most of my friends and I know a lot about).

51s4wPrXe4L._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

Ever wonder what kind of life you’d live if it was based on how beautiful you are? Look no further.

What hidden gems have you read recently?

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – January 17, 2016

Leave a Reply

